Australia National Symbols: Colors and Emblems

Australia National Colors

Green and gold were proclaimed Australia's national colours by the Governor-General on 19 April 1984. Prior to the proclamation Australia had no official colours.

The colours green and gold gained wide popularity and acceptance as the traditional national colours in Australian and international sporting events since before Federation and have been associated with many great sporting achievements since.

Australia National Floral Emblem

The Golden Wattle was proclaimed the official national floral emblem in August 1988.

The Golden Wattle is a spreading shrub or small tree which grows in the understorey of open forest, woodland and in open scrub in South Australia, Victoria, New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory. On the recommendation of the Government, on 23 June 1992 the Governor General proclaimed that 1 September in each year be observed as National Wattle Day. National Wattle Day provides an opportunity for all Australians to celebrate our floral heritage, particularly through the planting of an Acacia species suitable for the area in which they live.

Australia Faunal Emblem: The Emu

The emu appears with the kangaroo on Australia's Coat of Arms. During pre-historic times in Australia there were giant emus called Genyornii.

Australia National Gemstone

The Opal was proclaimed Australia's national gemstone on 28 July 1993.

Opals are often referred to as the fire of the desert - a mesmerizing display of all the colours of the rainbow. In fact there is a wonderful Aboriginal legend about the creation of the opal - that the rainbow fell to earth and created the colours of the opal.